Les Voies d’Eau du Hainaut: for the pleasure of it all...

With so much natural beauty and human ingenuity open and available to locals, walkers and visitors from home or abroad, we’ve got to ask ourselves: how can we make it as accessible, attractive and interesting as possible to visit these attractions?

So with the aim of promoting and preserving both the exceptional technical engineering and the lush green surroundings, the Association for the Management, Tourism and Sport for the Hainaut Waterways (the ASBL) was founded in 1964.

The ASBL runs four different attractions: the historic Canal du Centre, the sloping lock of Ronquières, the funicular boatlift of Strépy-Thieu and the Claire-Fontaine rest and relaxation centre.  How do they do this?  They promote the sites using, for example, this website, brochures, leaflets, advertising campaigns in the media and more.  They also promote the sites by bringing in tourists, whether directly or via third parties.

And there are so many ways to bring these sites to life!  Guided tours, themed adventure trails and shows, exhibitions and cultural and sporting events, services, boat rental, mini-train excursions, multi-ticket deals for the various sites, and so much more!  Alongside the local tour operators in the Hainaut region, everything is ready to ensure that each visitor enjoys a trip that they’ll never forget.  To top it off, there are also campsites, lakeside fishing spots, sports and water-sports activities, and dining areas – where you can bring your own lunch or buy it on site – to ensure that your visit is as successful and relaxing as you could possibly wish for.

But of course, nothing is set in stone.  There are always new projects, ideas and developments to make your visit to the Hainaut waterways even more enjoyable…

So welcome aboard!

 

Contact us

Les Voies d’Eau du Hainaut : pour le plaisir...

Quand tant de beauté naturelle et d'intelligence humaine s'offre aux riverains, promeneurs et visiteurs d'ici ou d'ailleurs, une question se pose tout naturellement : comment leur rendre la plus accessible, la plus agréable et la plus intéressante possible la visite de ces lieux ?

C'est dans le but de valoriser au mieux tant les ouvrages d'ingénierie technique exceptionnels que les alentours verdoyants qu'a été créée- en 1964 ! - l’Association pour la Gestion et l’Exploitation Touristiques et Sportives des Voies d’Eau du Hainaut.

L'asbl gère quatre attractions : le Canal du Centre historique, le Plan incliné de Ronquières, l'Ascenseur funiculaire de Strépy-Thieu et le Centre de délassement de Claire-Fontaine. Une valorisation qui se traduit par leur promotion, via ce site par exemple, mais aussi des brochures, dépliants, campagnes de publicité dans les médias, etc. Une valorisation qui passe aussi par l'exploitation touristique, soit en solo, soit via des tiers.

Donner vie aux sites peut prendre des formes multiples ! De visites guidées, en parcours-spectacles thématiques, d'expositions en manifestations culturelles/sportives/événementielles, de services et locations de bateaux et petits trains touristiques en excursions combinées et forfaits touristiques entre les sites... voire avec d’autres opérateurs touristiques hainuyers, tout est mis en place pour que chacun vive une expérience inoubliable. Terrains de camping, plans d’eau pour la pêche, activités sportives ou nautiques et cafétérias - avec et sans restauration – achèvent de parfaire le confort de visite et la détente.

Bien sûr, rien n'est figé et les projets naissent, évoluent, se transforment pour, toujours, susciter davantage d'émotions et de plaisir...

Bienvenue à tous !

Contactez-nous